Monday, April 4, 2011

Mercury Rev Reissues "Deserter's Songs," Drops Free MP3

Mercury Rev announced they would be reissuing their seminal 1998 album Deserter's Songs on May 16th. The new release comes complete with a 13-track bonus disc made up of B-sides, rare tracks and outtakes. Deserter's Songs marked a turning point in the band's sound, eschewing the harsh noise of their previous music for jazz, folk, 60's rock and Disney's soundtrack to Fantasia to create a lush, orchestral sound.

The album not only earned rave reviews from critics, but served as Mercury Rev's commercial breakthrough in the U.K. and Europe, producing three top 40 hits for "Goddess On A Highway," "Holes" and "Opus 40." View the full tracklisting below, and listen to "Opus 40."

Opus 40 by Mercury Rev

1. Holes
2. Tonite It Shows
3. Endlessly
4. Collect Coins
5. Opus 40
6.  Hudson Line
7.  The Happy End (The Drunk Room)
8.  Goddess on a Highway
9.  The Funny Bird
10. Pick Up If You're There
11. Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp
Bonus Disc:
1) Piano vs. Telephone (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
2) Holes (Bill Laswell 1998 Remix)
3) Pick Up If You're There (DJ Nickel 1998 Remix)
4) Endlessly (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)
5) A Soft Kiss (for waking up) (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
6) Tonite It Shows (Tascam 8-Track Reel to Reel Demo)
7) Looking Back Now, I Can See (Unreleased Mix)
8) Opus 40 (Early Rough Version)
9) Hudson Line (Early Rough Version)
10) Judging By The Moon (Cassette Tape Player Demo)
11) Goddess On A Hiway (1989 Cassette Tape Player Demo)
12) Night On Panther Mountain (Unreleased Mix)
13) Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp (Early Rough Version)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails